AXIS through the eyes of an Intern

>by Marguerite
I am starting to get into the swing of things in my new role here as an intern with AXIS Dance Company. Not only am I getting into shape biking over an hour to and fro the Malonga Center every shift but am also noticing I am feeling more integrated as a part of the ‘inner’ team. Juan, the pleasant security guard welcomes me and bike with smiles into the Malonga Center. I make my way up the stairs for a change of attire and am greeted with cheery ‘hellos’ upon my entry into the office – warm interpersonal dynamics I truly appreciate!

And the learning curve continues. I have recently had opportunity to further develop itineraries for two company tours; for Denver Colorado and Chandler, Arizona. Developing itineraries typically involves securing flights, hotels, talking with event organizers, making arrangements with venues, super-shuttles and car rentals, to name a few of the details needing attention. Requesting a refund with Super-shuttle on one occasion was an involved, challenging yet in the end, satisfying experience, providing opportunity to further hone my negotiation skills!

On another note, I have had opportunity to put into practice my home renovation skills, complete with drill, a very large pair of wire cutters and wall anchors! We tried to put up a curtain to further organize and beautify the office – alas to no avail, the curtain wire hanger was not strong enough to hold the curtain! A ‘to be continued’ project to return to as time permits…

A highlight and challenge has been taking the Monday night classes. The highlight is to study with AXIS Dance Company’s wonderful teachers. The challenge: to find pathways to learn and retain choreography! The search continues, my intention: to find a solution….

Much continues to inspire me to new levels of understanding and experience with my stint as intern with AXIS Dance Company. I look forward to more as the remaining time allows.

About AXIS Dance Company

AXIS is one of the world’s most innovative ensembles of performers with and without disabilities. Here you get a behind-the-scenes look into our world and stay up to date with AXIS. www.axisdance.org
This entry was posted in Intern. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

